Our Credentials

CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ professional or CFP® professional 

CFP® practitioners must pass a comprehensive two-day, 10-hour CFP® Certification Examination that tests their ability to apply financial planning knowledge in an integrated format.  Based on regular research of what planners do, the exam covers the financial planning process, tax planning, employee benefits and retirement planning, estate planning, investment management and insurance.  Most people think that all financial planners are "certified" but this isn't true.  Anyone can call himself or herself a "financial planner".  Only those who have fulfilled the certification and renewal requirements of CFP board can display the CFP certification marks.  When selecting a financial planner, you need to feel confident that the person you choose to help you plan for your future is competent and ethical.  The CFP® certification provides that sense of security by allowing only those who meet the education, examination, experience and ethics requirements the right to use the CFP certification marks.

CLU®,  (Chartered Life Underwriter)

The Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU) designation is the undisputed professional credential for persons involved in the protection, accumulation, preservation, and distribution of the economic values of human life. Since the first examinations were held in 1928, more than 85,000 men and women have met the educational, experience, and ethics mandates needed to earn the CLU designation. The CLU program provides insights into the life insurance business, its importance to the economy, its operation and distribution systems, and its resurging importance for safe and secure investments. For agents, field managers, home office personnel, and others involved in providing life insurance products to the public, the CLU designation is the common bond for continuing growth and commitment to professionalism. 

ChFC®,  (Chartered Financial Consultant)

ChFC logoThe Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) designation focuses on the comprehensive financial planning process as an organized way to collect and analyze information on a client's total financial situation; to identify and establish specific financial goals; and to formulate, implement, and monitor a comprehensive plan to achieve those goals. The ChFC program provides financial planners and others in the financial services industry with in-depth knowledge of the skills needed to perform comprehensive financial planning for their clients. Since its inception in 1982, more than 32,000 men and women have met the educational, experience, and ethics mandates needed to earn the ChFC designation.

RHU®, (Registered Health Underwriter)

The Registered Health Underwriter (RHU) designation demonstrates that the student has successfully completed a rigorous three-course program, met experience requirements, maintains ethical standards, and has agreed to comply with The American College's Code of Ethics and Procedures and recertification/continuing education requirements. The focus of this designation is to prepare professionals to advise clients on their health insurance needs.

LUTCF (The LUTC Fellow Designation)

For insurance professionals, agents and managers looking to get their career off to a solid start, the Life Underwriter Training Council program focuses on providing the skills and knowledge needed to excel in the financial services industry by addressing current product knowledge coupled with vital sales skills.



The American College

The American College is the nation's oldest and largest nontraditional institution for higher learning devoted exclusively to academic studies on the financial services. Founded in 1927, The College is accredited by the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.